[WIP] My Sagittal Font

Fluffeh

[WIP] My Sagittal Font

Post by Fluffeh »

Hello everyone! :D

I'm an amateur font designer currently working on developing a SMuFL-compliant music font. After looking through the basics of Sagittal notation I've decided to try my hand at designing and/or developing the Sagittal glyphs. Since this is the official Sagittal forum I figured there'd be no better place for some feedback. :)

Here I've started with a few designs of :|): (tai):

The first one is based off of the standard glyph included in Bravura. The other two incorporate varying levels of a slant found in William Lynch's calligraphic depictions of Sagittal notation.

For comparison here's a few more-standard accidentals:

More to come but first it'd be great to hear any thoughts/comments/suggestions/feedback anyone has! :D
Last edited by Fluffeh on Sat Jun 08, 2019 4:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Dave Keenan
Site Admin

Re: [WIP] My Sagittal Font

Post by Dave Keenan »

Hi Fluffeh. Welcome.

One problem with Sagittal glyphs is the need to make four shapes which all have to be some kind of arrow-head or directional "flag" and yet have to be very distinct from each other. Another problem is the propensity of many humans to confuse left-right reversals of the same shape. So in a sense we need to distinguish 8 different shapes of flag. The four shapes are conceptually, in order from simple to complex: straight, convex, concave, and concavoconvex (wavy). The most common alterations use the simplest shapes. These four conceptual shapes leave room for graphical interpretation. And in the existing font we attempt to distinguish the left version of a given shape from the right version by varying the width in proportion to their untempered size in cents.